Food Friday – 04/17/2015

Hello again!

FoodFriday04-17

This week I am running late! I’m leaving tonight to visit my parents for the weekend, and I completely forgot I didn’t finish this post last night. So, amidst cookie baking and last minute packing, here’s Food Friday.

First up, a Chicken Fajita Salad with Quesadilla points.

Chicken Fajita Salad with Quesadilla Points.

Chicken Fajita Salad with Quesadilla Points.

I didn’t follow a specific recipe for this dish, but I did use the homemade fajita seasoning recipe from Chocolate Moosey, which was delicious! Just perfect for the chicken and vegetables. The quesadilla points I made in a quesadilla maker and just cut along the creases.

Now here’s an actual recipe, Slow Cooked Asian BBQ Pork from The Lemon Bowl with Asian Slaw.

Slow Cooked Asian BBQ Pork and slaw

Slow Cooked Asian BBQ Pork and slaw

This was a big surprise for me. The flavors were amazing! I’m all about my Carolina BBQ pulled pork, but this is definitely a refreshing and wonderful change. I mixed a bag of pre-shredded coleslaw with soy sauce, sesame oil, a little bit of Sriracha, and rice vinegar. It went together well, and I’m definitely keeping this recipe.

Next up, One Pan Balsamic Chicken and Veggies from Cooking Classy.

One Pan Balsamic Chicken and Veggies

One Pan Balsamic Chicken and Veggies

I had a friend over the night I made this and she and the hubs liked it a lot. For me, it wasn’t my favorite thing. I think it was the Italian dressing in it that I didn’t like. I have gotten annoyingly particular about Italian dressing and almost no store bought versions make me happy. I did like the balsamic flavor in it, and the sauce had a nice consistency and coated everything nicely.

Last up this  week, and the recipe I was most excited about, Buffalo Ranch Stuffed Peppers from Primally Inspired.

Buffalo Ranch Stuffed Peppers

Buffalo Ranch Stuffed Peppers

These were A-MAH-ZING! Bursting with flavor, and no pre-made ranch seasoning here! An easy mix of dried parsley, dill, chives, garlic powder and onion powder come together for that. I had everything on hand except the chives, and now I have  jar of those for whenever the mood strikes. I nestled my stuffed pepper in a salad to complete the meal and even the hubs was stuffed!

That’s all for this Food Friday. See you Monday! (And those cookies I mentioned? You’ll see those next Food Friday, promise.)

Leave a Reply

