Novel Monday – Trigger Warning by Neil Gaiman

Hey Guys!

I’m back for more book adventures. Last weeks novel was Trigger Warning by Neil Gaiman.

Trigger Warning: Short Fictions and Disturbances by Neil Gaiman

Trigger Warning: Short Fictions and Disturbances by Neil Gaiman

Trigger Warning is a collection of short stories, and I loved it. There is no unifying factor throughout besides the author, and the stories are varied in content.

There is not a lot of happy endings in this book, but it is not depressing. It is highly amusing and interesting. There are twists and turns, surprises and fantastic elements. It is typical of the Neil Gaiman novels I’ve read in that it is wonderful. The imagination of it all is impressive and enviable. I also love that he can build horror on the atmosphere and through the characters. There is no need to rely on blood and gore.

I think my favorite story in the collection would have to be Click-Clack the Rattlebag. It is a wonderfully creepy horror tale that I re-read twice just because I couldn’t move on. There is also a lovely bit of Doctor Who fan-fiction, Nothing O’clock, that I adored.

There is a long introduction to this collection that I admittedly have not finished yet. I got about half way through it before starting the book, and haven’t gone back. It was entertaining, but I just got to a point I wanted to move onto the stories, which did not disappoint.

4 out of 5. A great read, and one I bought for future re-visits.

Space

So, on to this week!

The Light Between Oceans by M. L. Stedman

The Light Between Oceans by M. L. Stedman

The Light Between Oceans by M. L. Stedman. A historical novel, set in Australia, about a lighthouse keeper, his wife, and a baby that washes ashore.

That’s all for this Novel Monday! See you Friday.

One thought on “Novel Monday – Trigger Warning by Neil Gaiman

  1. Pingback: Vampires in the Lemon Grove by Karen Russell | Messy Counters and Floured Paperbacks

Leave a Reply

