Novel Monday – The Light Between Oceans by M. L. Stedman

Hello again!

Last weeks novel was The Light Between Oceans by M. L. Stedman.

The Light Between Oceans by M. L. Stedman

The Light Between Oceans by M. L. Stedman

This has been a strange week in books for me. I spent all week chipping away at The Light Between Oceans by M. L. Steadman, and finally had to throw the towel in. I made it halfway through, and it was a weighty, sad story. I struggled for every page. As a dreary, human story, it was effective, but it truly felt like it would be thick unhappiness from beginning to end, and I just had no desire to continue on.

Space

So, I attempted to follow my own rule of reviewing another book, but it turns out the book I had picked up from the library at random(I really need to stop doing that, I’m just having weird luck) was a supplementary novella, so it was useless to me.

So, now I’ve come to Plan C! Plan C is a throwback book. One I read many years ago, but still remember and love. That book is The Manhattan Hunt Club by John Saul.

The Manhattan Hunt Club by John Saul

The Manhattan Hunt Club by John Saul

Jeff Converse was falsely convicted of attempted murder. Then an accident during transport has him declared dead. But Jeff isn’t dead. He’s been deposited deep in the tunnels under Manhattan, where he is being hunted by the elite Manhattan Hunt Club. Can he escape the tunnels and the people hunting him?

I think it’s safe to admit that my favorite book genre is thriller/suspense. The Manhattan Hunt Club is a fantastic example of the genre. It is surprising and shocking and delightfully dark. It does take time to get to the heart-racing meat of the novel, but without it who would care what was happening?

4.5 out of 5. Always have and always will love this book.

Space

So, finally we will move on to next weeks book…

The Girl In The Road by Monica Byrne

The Girl In The Road by Monica Byrne

The Girl In The Road by Monica Byrne.

With a title so similar to a book I read a few weeks ago (The Girl On The Train, check out that review here if you missed it) it is surprising how different these book seem. The Girl In The Road is a futuristic dystopian story, while The Girl On The Train was a contemporary novel. Hopefully, this will be similar in success.

That’s all for this Novel Monday. See you Friday.

Leave a Reply

