Food Friday – 05/08/2015 Desserts

Hello again!

FoodFriday05-01-2015

I have some great recipes this week. Simple and delicious, what more can you ask for? Coincidence alert: I have two cookie recipes from a single site, and two cake recipes from another this week.

Space

Let’s start with some cookies. How about Butterscotch Oatmeal M&M Cookies from Picky Palate? They are just as good as they sound.

Butterscotch Oatmeal M&M Cookies

Butterscotch Oatmeal M&M Cookies

Should I eat them for breakfast? Probably not. Did I eat them for breakfast? Well, they have oatmeal in them, don’t they? They are soft and chewy and the butterscotch sauce in the dough adds great flavor.

Space

We’re staying on the cookie theme, and actually the Picky Palate theme, with these Bakery Style Ginger Molasses Cookies.

Bakery Style Ginger Molasses Cookies

Bakery Style Ginger Molasses Cookies

Now, I really think all I have to say about these is that my grandmother asked for the recipe. My GRANDMOTHER, people. Queen of the kitchen, Duchess of desserts, asked for this recipe!

I guess if that doesn’t tell you how amazing these are I’ll add that they are soft and warm and slightly chewy with a fantastic molasses depth and just a little spicy bump from the ginger.

Space.

Now, well move from cookies to cake. Another delicious C word.

I visited my dad recently, close to his birthday, and really wanted to make him a cake but it needed to be able to survive 4 1/2 hours in the car. Averie Cooks came to the rescue with this Easy Yellow Cake with Buttercream Frosting.

Easy Yellow Cake with Buttercream Frosting

Easy Yellow Cake with Buttercream Frosting

At 8 inches square it was a perfect size for transport and didn’t leave a ton of leftovers. And it has two-tone frosting, how cute? As you can see, the cake was light and fluffy, but was still flavorful and perfectly moist.

For an excuse to add another picture, I’ll add that I put a bit of blue crystal sprinkles on top to make it more festive.

DSCN0238

Space

That cake was so good, I wanted to try one of the variations she listed. I just couldn’t resist the Lemon Buttermilk Cake with Lemon Glaze.

Lemon Buttermilk Cake with Lemon Glaze

Lemon Buttermilk Cake with Lemon Glaze

Notice it has lemon in the title twice? That’s because it has twice the lemon payoff! My mouth actually puckered a bit when I took the first bite, and I loved it! It is everything I want in a lemon dessert, just a little sweet with a big punch of lemon flavor. The glaze soaks down into the cake, keeping it super moist without weighing it down.

Space.

That’s all for this Food Friday! See you Monday!

Leave a Reply

