Novel Monday – The Unseen by Katherine Webb or Classic Monday?

Hello again!

Last weeks book was The Unseen: A Novel by Katherine Webb.

Unfortunately, this is the second week in a row I didn’t finish a novel. I wanted to like this, but I just couldn’t get into it.

But, no worries! I am currently working my way through The Complete Sherlock Holmes: Volumes 1-4 (The Heirloom Collection) by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, and I have completed the first novel, A Study in Scarlet: A Sherlock Holmes Story (Xist Classics).

I came into this novel almost completely green. I’ve seen the recent resurgence of Sherlock movies/shows (I watch Sherlock, and Elementary), but I didn’t know anything about the actual stories or characters.

I loved A Study In Scarlet. Holmes and Watson are likeable characters, and the story is fascinating. I was listening to this during my morning walks, so when Part 2 came around and we abandoned Holmes and Watson for the Alkali Plains and Mormons, I was completely confused. It took my so by surprise that it took me quite a while to realize why that story was being told. At the end of the novel, we wrap back to Holmes and Watson and finish tying the Mormon story to our scarlet mystery.

I’ve heard that some people skip over the Mormon story, since Holmes never makes an appearance. I do not understand this. That story is great, and for me it was essential to the main mystery. It adds depth to the novel, elevating it from just a confident consulting detective showing off his skills to a full human story. Please don’t skip this part. It is just as wonderfully written as the Holmes-focused parts, and is wonderfully interesting in its own right.

I’m excited to continue through the collection, and I think A Study In Scarlet is a wonderful read for anyone.

4.5 out of 5.

Space

So, on to this week!

This weeks novel is…

Suicide Forest (A Suspense Horror Thriller & Mystery Novel) (World’s Scariest Places Occult & Supernatural Crime Series Book 1) by Jeremy Bates.

There is a forest in Japan nicknamed Suicide Forest, due to the large number of people who kill themselves among the trees. This suspense novel takes place within that forest.

That’s all for this Novel Monday! See you Wednesday for a special Craft Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

