Novel Monday – Suicide Forest by Jeremy Bates

Hello again!

Last weeks novel was Suicide Forest by Jeremy Bates.

When I started this novel it was just because it was set in Aokigahara, also known as Suicide Forest, in Japan. I had heard about this place a couple years back and it seemed like an interesting place for a horror novel.

For the first quarter of the book I didn’t care for the characters at all. The main character, Ethan seemed completely self-absorbed and obnoxious. The things the characters did and thought seemed somewhat disjointed at the beginning. I thought more than once why would they say that/do that?

I guess my morbid curiosity about the forest pulled me through the first part. Bates crafted a strong creepy atmosphere from the beginning, and throughout the book it got stronger. Tension puled tight as I got deeper into the novel, and they deeper into the forest.

The second half picked up and dragged me along. I couldn’t put it down at that point. As I got closer and closer to the end of the novel, it got crazier and more shocking. There’s a great twist at the end, and I loved it.

4 out of 5. Please check this book out, I found it through Bookbub, and got a great deal on the Kindle version.

So, on to this week!

This weeks novel is…

Royals by A.B. Wright.

This is a novel from an author local to me. I was really excited to see that another NaNoWriMo participant had published and I couldn’t resist reading it for myself.

That’s all for this Novel Monday. See you Friday!

Leave a Reply

