Food Friday – 05/22/2015

Hello again!

FoodFriday05-22

I’ve got some great recipes this week.

Space

Back in January I made this Eggroll in a Bowl recipe from Mostly Homemade Mom, and I made a version of it again this week.

Eggroll in a Bowl

Eggroll in a Bowl

Her recipe called for ground sausage, which I didn’t have then, and still didn’t have. I used group pork this time, and I added 2 tsp each of sriracha and black bean garlic sauce for a bit of a different flavor. Her original recipe is fantastic, mine is just a little different.

Space

Last August I made Cheesy Chicken, Bacon, Broccoli, and Rice from Kevin and Amanda. Well this week I found out they have a pasta version! Cheesy Chicken Bacon Broccoli Pasta.

Cheesy Chicken Bacon Broccoli Pasta

Cheesy Chicken Bacon Broccoli Pasta

This was so good. It is creamy and bursting with flavor, and it’s not too heavy. I did cut the heavy whipping cream in half with Greek yogurt to lighten the calorie load. If you decide to do that, just remember you have to add the yogurt at the end once you turn the heat off or it can curdle. And that would be a shame in a dish this tasty.

Space

I made another Kevin and Amanda recipe this week, Cajun Chicken & Rice.

Cajun Chicken and Rice

Cajun Chicken and Rice

Amazingly quick and tasty. I followed the directions and used a bag of frozen pepper stir-fry veggies instead of chopping my own, and it came out just right. I think this recipe took me all of 15 minutes to put together (I had rice already cooked), and it was so flavorful!

Space

Last this week, but not least, are these Bruschetta Style BBQ Pork Chops from Kitchen Trials.

Brushetta Style BBQ Pork Chops

Brushetta Style BBQ Pork Chops

Wow. I’m not sure what else to say here. These are absolutely amazing! The brushetta topping is fresh and light, and the balsamic vinegar is just right with the pork.

Space

That’s all for this weeks Food Friday. See you Monday!

Leave a Reply

