Novel Monday – Royals by A.B. Wright

Hello again!

Last weeks novel was Royals by A.B. Wright.

I wasn’t positive what I was getting into when I started reading it. I was mostly pulled in by the excitement of reading a fellow NaNo’s novel.

It was an interesting YA novel. The premise was interesting, a society rebuilding from a devastation with royals to rule them.

Something I’ve noticed in a lot of YA novels with a female protagonist, there is a bit of a love triangle here. I’m getting tired of that trope, but it was handled well here. There was a huge jump in one of the characters feelings/motivation that threw me. I felt like there hadn’t been enough of a catalyst for it, and it left me confused for a while.

I was loving the book though. It was entertaining and fun. Then something happened near the end, and I was flummoxed. I felt like I had been hit in the head. It doesn’t change the fact that I enjoyed the book. It was just shocking.

3.5 out of 5. Definitely check this out if you like YA. It’s an entertaining, quick read, and it would support an independent author. Win-win.

So, on to this week!

This weeks novel is…

Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling.

As a fan of The Mindy Project, I’m excited to read (well, listen technically, I got the Audible copy) this. I imagine it will be entertaining.

That’s all for this Novel Monday! See you Friday.

One thought on “Novel Monday – Royals by A.B. Wright

Leave a Reply

