Novel Monday – Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling

Hello again!

Last weeks novel was Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling.

I loved this book. It has a fantastic conversation tone, and is full of funny anecdotes and lists. It almost feels like chatting with a friend. It’s great if you are feeling down, or just need a good laugh. She talks about her awkward childhood, her struggles, and a number of personal incidents/thought. It doesn’t feel like she tried to write an inspirational book, or an instruction manual to fame, or even perhaps a comedy hit. It really felt like she wrote honestly about herself and her experiences, and her humor just shown through (I think I said something similar about Amy Poehler’s humor in my review of Yes Please
here).

The last section did have some odd essays, and felt a bit scattered and weird, but didn’t lessen my enjoyment. I actually now have the audiobook, and a physical copy since I liked it so much.

I will caution that if you don’t like her character in The Mindy Project (I actually haven’t watched The Office, but I would assume that character applies also) this book is probably not for you.  There are a good number of similarities in style and tone.

For me though, this book was fantastic. 4.5 out of 5.

So, on to this week!

This weeks novel is…

A Thin Dark Line by Tami Hoag.

Does anybody else have a set of shelves at their library that feature best-selling authors? Mine is near the check-out, so I always look at them. That’s where I found this throwback from the 90’s. I’ve never read a Tami Hoag book so we’ll see.

That’s all for this Novel Monday! See you Friday.

Leave a Reply

