Food Friday – Hot Dog Bar

Hello again!

Hot Dog Bar

When I got home from our trip, we had a little party, and I made a hot dog bar, something I’ve been thinking about for a few months now. It just seemed like such a fun and easy party idea.

There are a number of hot dog bar posts out there that have cute decoration ideas and wonderful printed suggested topping cards to help people build hot dogs. Pocket Change Gourmet has a great post with free printables, here.

I didn’t make any suggestion cards since it was such a small party (and I was being lazy. I did say I wanted it easy.). I just put all the toppings out and let people pick what they wanted. (Sorry in advance about the next pictures. I took them quickly and didn’t notice the focus was off.)

Chili Cheese Tray

I nicknamed this tray the chili cheese tray. It has grilled onions, fried onions (French’s that I toasted a little), chopped bacon, shredded cheese, and this Coney Island Chili from Cooking With SAHD. The chili was good, though I added some ketchup at the end for more tomato flavor. It had good texture and was just thick enough without being gluey.

Taco Tray

This was the Taco tray. It had taco meat(ground turkey and taco seasoning), shredded lettuce, tomato slices, pickle spears and diced, and diced pickled jalapenos.

Hot Dogs

The hot dogs were pretty straightforward.  I used some Nathan’s, and some Oscar Meyer. I took about half of them and made these marinated grilled hot dogs from Plain Chicken.

The marinated hot dogs were my favorite. They have great flavor from so little. Since they are sliced open as well, you have to be careful not to burn them(as you can see, I had that problem).

That’s all for this Food Friday! I’ll be back next week with the normal format. See you Monday.

Leave a Reply

