Food Friday – 06/12/2015

Hello again.

FoodFriday06-12-2015

I’m still slightly off my schedule this week. I’m having trouble making myself focus.

First up, Macaroni and Cheese Soup with Roasted Tomatoes I found on Culinary Covers.

Macaroni and Cheese Soup with Roasted Tomatoes

Macaroni and Cheese Soup with Roasted Tomatoes

I would definitely recommend using a light-colored vegetable broth for this. The brand I used is a deep brown color, so it turned the whole thing a bit brown. The flavor was great though. It is smooth and has great cheese flavor payoff. The roasted tomatoes add a wonderful pop of acid and freshness.

Next up, Skinny Tomato Soup with Cheesy Orzo from Picky Palette.

Skinny Tomato Soup with Cheesy Orzo

Skinny Tomato Soup with Cheesy Orzo

I really needed a light, easy dinner one night and I was seriously needing to go to the grocery store. Well, I had no intention of doing that, so I searched until I found this, which I had all of the ingredients for already. It came together in less than 15 minutes, and was really delicious.

Next up, Bang Bang Pasta from Kirbie’s Cravings.

Bang Bang Pasta

Bang Bang Pasta

I keep coming across Bang Bang recipes (mostly shrimp), and I finally had to give one a try. The sauce for this is creamy, flavorful, and has a great heat level. The sweet chili sauce is the main flavor of the sauce, so if you like that, you’ll probably like this. I think if I made this again, though, I would thin the sauce a little with the pasta water. It gets a bit gluey after a bit.

Last up this week, is a recipe I had to alter slightly. I found this Grilled Honey Mustard Chicken recipe on Simply Scratch.

Grilled Honey Mustard Chicken

Grilled Honey Mustard Chicken

I love mustard(last count, I had four different kinds in my fridge) but didn’t have any stone ground. I ended up using equal parts spicy brown and a horseradish garlic that I bought a few weeks ago. It was really fantastic, a little spicy, just a hint of sweet, and so flavorful.  I am absolutely going to have to try this with stone ground mustard.

That’s all for this Food Friday. See you Monday.

Leave a Reply

