Food Friday – Desserts #7!

Hello again!

FoodFriday07-10

I’m super excited to be back with a dessert post. I think it’s been about two month since my last one. So, let’s get into it!

A

Vanilla Fruit Salad from Averie Cooks.

Vanilla Fruit Salad

Vanilla Fruit Salad

This was fantastic! It doesn’t last long, but the hubs, my dad, and I finished the whole batch in 24 hours, so that wasn’t a problem! The vanilla flavor is very light, but it adds another special layer of flavor while letting the fruit shine through.

A

Raspberry Mocha Mudslide Parfaits from Baking A Moment.

Raspberry Mocha Mudslide Parfaits

Raspberry Mocha Mudslide Parfaits

These were sinful. The chocolate mudslide mousse is rich and so amazing with the tart, bright pop of the raspberry puree. I made mine the night before we ate them, so the cookie layer wasn’t crunchy anymore, but it was still a great component.

A

Easy Rum-Soaked Grilled Pineapple from Gimme Some Oven.

Easy Rum-Soaked Pineapple

Easy Rum-Soaked Pineapple

So, I might have soaked my pineapple too long…

I let them soak for 4 hours, and when I grilled them up, they tasted like rum. Just rum. Even the hubs, who has a higher tolerance for alcohol flavor than I do said they just tasted like rum. So, I suggest not soaking them as long as I did. The rum sauce is absolutely amazing, so I’m definitely going to make this again, just with less soak time.

A

Last up, Almond Cake with Fresh Cherry Sauce and Vanilla Ice Cream.

Almond Cake with Fresh Cherry Sauce and Vanilla Ice Cream

Almond Cake with Fresh Cherry Sauce and Vanilla Ice Cream

I had a bag of cherries I bought because they just looked too good at the store, and wanted to do something special with them. So I got the idea to make this dessert. I made the almond cake by modifying this fantastic Easy Yellow Cake recipe from Averie Cooks. All I did was sub out half the vanilla extract for almond extract (I wanted to sub all of it, but I ran out of almond extract). This gave it a very subtle almond flavor and an amazing scent. I made this Fresh Cherry Sauce from Add A Pinch to go with it. It only takes ten minutes, and has great bold cherry flavor without being too sweet.

A

That’s all for this Food Friday! Visit me on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram using the icons in the sidebars, and I’ll see you Monday.

Leave a Reply

