Food Friday – 07-17-2015

Hello again!

FoodFriday07-17

I love nothing more than having a good cooking week, and I got that this week! Good recipes all around.

A

Spicy Chicken Fried Rice from Gimme Some Oven with Ginger Lime Asian Slaw from Real Food Real Deals.

Spicy Chicken Fried Rice and Ginger Lime Slaw

Spicy Chicken Fried Rice and Ginger Lime Asian Slaw

I love fried rice and this is another great recipe. It has a great subtle heat and all the traditional great flavors of fried rice. Fun fact: if you forget to make rice ahead of time (guilty), you can cook it, spread it out on a sheet pan, and stick it in the fridge until cool and it works just as well.

The slaw was not my thing, but I had trouble putting my finger on why. Maybe it had too much ginger for me. The hubs thought it was a bit bitter.

A

Chinese Chicken Pasta Salad from Averie Cooks.

Chinese Chicken Pasta Salad

Chinese Chicken Pasta Salad

This was so good! The sauce is so perfect, and there is plenty to coat everything. It’s great warm, and just as fantastic cold the next day.

A

Stuffed Zucchini from Jo Cooks.

Stuffed Zucchini

Stuffed Zucchini

These were really good. I’ve made stuffed zucchini before and I wasn’t impressed. They normally come out really watery and lackluster. The filling for these is thick and rich, so it doesn’t get watery during baking, and the zucchini stayed perfectly firm. The hubs refered to this as magical, which is always nice to hear.

A

Cheeseburger Gnocchi from Kevin & Amanda.

Cheeseburger Gnocchi

Cheeseburger Gnocchi

Yum! This was tasty, filling, and the gnocchi was a great change. I was surprised how meaty this was with only a 1/2 lb of ground beef. I didn’t have enough cheddar for this recipe, so I ended up adding some blue cheese to compensate.

A

That’s all for this Food Friday. Follow me on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram through the icons in the sidebar.

Leave a Reply

