Food Friday – 07/24/2015

Hello again!

FoodFriday07-24

This week has some fantastic recipe twists.

A

Buffalo Chicken Pad Thai from The Food in my Beard on Tablespoon.

Buffalo Chicken Pad Thai

Buffalo Chicken Pad Thai

This was so good. It’s quite spicy from the buffalo sauce, but is still full of Pad Thai flavor. It makes huge portions, so it’s great on those days when you’re hungry no matter what you eat. I did make extra of the sauce, per a suggestion in the comments, and was glad I did. I like saucy noodles, and it made them perfect for me. One big alteration I made was baking my chicken instead of frying it, and it still came out delicious. Crunchy outside and juicy inside.

A

Toasted Italian Sandwich from Mess For Less.

Toasted Italian Sandwich

Toasted Italian Sandwich

I chose this for the hubs. Every time I saw this on Pinterest, I just knew he would love it. And I wasn’t wrong! He said he wants to have this every single week. What actually surprised me was how much I loved it. Pesto is something I normally don’t eat, but it made this sandwich. The recipe calls for specific brands for the meat, but I just got ham, salami, and pepperoni from the deli counter, and it was perfect.

A

Bacon Wrapped Cheese Hot Dogs from Barbara Bakes.

Bacon Wrapped Cheese Hot Dogs

Bacon Wrapped Cheese Hot Dogs

Finally, I have wrapped a hot dog in bacon. It’s something I’ve been avoiding, since I wasn’t sure I could get the bacon cooked right, but this got wonderfully crispy on the grill. I think the trick is to not overlap the bacon much when you wrap the hot dogs. The recipe called for pre-cooked bacon, but I used raw and they came out fine. They took about 20 minutes on the grill, and if I make these again I will either not stuff them with cheese, or I will bake them like instructed. On the grill, a good amount of it leaked out.

A

This week, I’m wrapping the post up with two potato salad recipes. Deviled Egg Potato Salad from The Gracious Wife, and Bacon Ranch Potato Salad from The Recipe Critic.

Deviled Egg Potato Salad

Deviled Egg Potato Salad

This is delicious. It’s close to the traditional potato salad I grew up with, but with a little more tang from the mustard. I added a bit of paprika at the end to mirror my deviled eggs.

A

Bacon Ranch Potato Salad

Bacon Ranch Potato Salad

Now, this is going to be my go-to recipe from now on. It’s just like a loaded baked potato, but with the delicious addition of ranch flavor! I took this to a cookout, and everyone loved it.

A

That’s all for this Food Friday. Follow me on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter through the icons in the sidebar, and feel free to comment below.

Leave a Reply

