Food Friday – 07/31/2015

Hello again!

FoodFriday07-31

This week I’ve got two ground turkey and two meatless meals.

A

I converted these Buffalo Turkey Burgers with Blue Cheese Broccoli Slaw from Skinnytaste into tacos one night because I’m loving these Stand ‘N Stuff™ shells from Old El Paso™.

Buffalo Turkey Tacos with Blue Cheese Slaw

Buffalo Turkey Tacos with Blue Cheese Slaw

I don’t think I’ve ever featured this turkey burger recipe, but I’ve made it many times and love it every time. And the blue cheese dressing? Amazing! Please make it, don’t buy it. I don’t buy blue cheese dressing anymore, I just make it myself. These tacos are just as good as the burger, just a different format. I also had to use coleslaw mix instead of broccoli slaw since the store was out of it this week.

This is what I did to convert them into tacos:

  1. Cook and crumble the ground turkey with one chopped onion. Then add the grated carrot and garlic, followed by buffalo sauce to taste. I used a mix of Frank’s Red Hot Buffalo Sauce, and Spicy Garlic sauce from Buffalo Wild Wings because it’s thicker, so it wouldn’t soak the tortillas.
  2. Place stand and stuff taco shells in baking dish and spoon in meat mixture. Top with cheese (I used half a slice per taco).
  3. Bake at 350 until cheese is melted. I left mine in for about 15 minutes to firm up the shells a little.
  4. Top tacos with slaw and serve.

A

Then I made these Turkey Burger Mason Jar Salads from Food Faith Fitness.

Turkey Burger Mason Jar Salad

Turkey Burger Mason Jar Salads

These were delicious. It really does have all the flavors of a burger in a salad. I was a little wary of the tomato sauce, but it is perfect. The hubs and I had these for lunch three days this week. He said it’s like eating a guilt-free burger, and it’s not too heavy on the stomach. It’s a perfect make-ahead lunch.

A

Moving on the vegetables dishes, I made this Spicy Roasted Vegetable Macaroni and Cheese from The Comfort of Cooking.

Spicy Roasted Vegetable Macaroni and Cheese

Spicy Roasted Vegetable Macaroni and Cheese

I might have found a new macaroni and cheese recipe. This is just as indulgent as regular mac and cheese, but with the addition of delicious roasted vegetables. It’s a perfect way to lighten and bulk up mac and cheese. Even the hubs said it was great. *Sorry about the messy pan. I was apparently extra lazy that day. Upside: if you have an oven-safe skillet, you can brown it in that instead of dirtying another dish.*

A

Last this week, Vegetable Bolognese from Eat Within Your Means.

Vegetable Bolognese

Vegetable Bolognese

There are times I can’t imagine being a vegetarian. Then there are recipes like this. It is insane how good this is! It is just as good as a meaty marinara for me. The hubs said it was really good, but I think he still has a special spot in his heart for real meat sauce. I used a mixture of spaghetti and “zoodles” (zucchini noodles) because I can’t imagine giving up my pasta completely. I can say the zoodles were really good, and a great way to cut calories while still eating pasta.

The only downside for me was appearance. The sauce turned a bit brown as it cooked. Still delicious, just not as pretty.


That’s all for this Food Friday. I’d love it if you followed me on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram using the icons in the sidebar. See you Monday!

One thought on “Food Friday – 07/31/2015

  1. Pingback: Zoodle Recipes and GIVEAWAYS! | Messy Counters and Floured Paperbacks

Leave a Reply

