What I’m Cooking – 09/18/2015

Hello again!

FoodFriday09-18-15

I’ve got a recipe round up this week. Most of the recipes are meat-free, so I’ll start with the one with meat.

A

Teriyaki Chicken Casserole from Oh Sweet Basil.

Teriyaki Chicken Casserole

Teriyaki Chicken Casserole

This recipe is so good. The sauce is really nice. I can never find a pre-made teriyaki sauce that isn’t impossibly salty, so making my own is a winner. It’s calorie-friendly and so filling from all of the veggies. I used broccoli slaw instead of the veggie mix called for because it’s what my grocery store had. This also held up really well as leftovers for lunch the next day.

A

On to the meat-free dishes, which are delicious and flavorful enough to please even my meat loving husband.

Red Beans and Rice from A Couple Cooks.

Beans and Rice

Beans and Rice

To be fair, I made beans and rice, since I used black beans with the red, but either way this was delicious. It’s so simple and easy, but it has a lot of flavor. A perfect budget meal.

A

One Pan Mexican Quinoa from Damn Delicious.

One Pan Mexican Quinoa

One Pan Mexican Quinoa

This was perfect. Quick, easy, flavorful, and cooked all in one pan! The quinoa gives it a nice texture, and the lime squeezed over the top added just enough brightness to make the dish pop.

A

Cheesy Vegetable Chowder from Cooking Classy.

Cheesy Vegetable Chowder

Cheesy Vegetable Chowder

I struggled to get a picture of this. It’s full of veggies – broccoli, carrots, celery, onion, potatoes and it is so good! It’s creamy, cheesy, and fantastic. I turned my oyster crackers into Parmesan Ranch oyster crackers, and they were absolutely amazing with this soup!

Parmesan Ranch Oyster Crackers

1 bag of oyster crackers (I think mine was 9 oz)
3 tbsp olive oil
2 tbsp dry ranch seasoning
2 tbsp grated Parmesan cheese

Preheat oven to 250°.

In a large bowl, mix the oil and ranch seasoning together until well blended. Add the oyster crackers and stir until completely coated.

Spread over a sheet pan, and sprinkle with Parmesan cheese. Bake for 15-20 minutes, stirring every 5 minutes. Note: not all my Parmesan stuck to the oyster crackers.


Follow me on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram using the icons in the sidebar, and follow me here to get notifications of new posts.

What’s your favorite meat-less recipe? Comment below!

Leave a Reply

