All About Breakfast

Hello again!

Breakfast

Am I the only one that has spent years struggling with breakfast? I just can’t adult when it comes to this meal. Cereal isn’t satisfying (unless you eat the whole box, and then there goes your whole day), I don’t really like cooking myself breakfast (because I’m not normally hungry enough), and I don’t like to buy breakfast.

For almost a year I took Clif bars to work for breakfast. More than half that time they went uneaten. I just had no enthusiasm for morning eating. I tried to make myself eat, but it would just make me queasy. Add to that there’s conflicting camps on eating breakfast. Lots of information says you have to eat it. It is the most important meal of the day, isn’t it? But other people advocate if you’re not hungry, there’s no point in eating it. So that’s no help.

But finally I think I’ve figured out my own code. Find something that is is good it makes me hungry, make that until it doesn’t, and repeat.

A

Most of my summer was dominated by these Veggie Eggs.

DSCN0893

A mix of colored peppers, onion, and zucchini, sauteed and topped with two sunny side up eggs (mine look completely white because I put a lid on the pan to help the white set, the yolks are still perfectly runny) and cheese. Sometimes I added in some roasted potatoes, or halved grape tomatoes. It’s an easy meal, low in calories, filling, and easy to customize. You could use any veggies you want, add meat, use whatever seasonings you like, or cook the eggs differently. I made this with scrambled eggs a few times, which was a nice change, but for me the runny yolk was more delicious.

A

More recently, I’ve been making these English Muffin Breakfast Pizzas on Sunday nights, so that we had ready-made breakfasts throughout the week.

English Muffin Breakfast Pizza

I know some people say never to cook eggs and store them for later, that they taste nasty later. I don’t have that problem. I think these taste just as good even days later. I think it’s more a matter of gently re-warming them instead of zapping them on high in the microwave.

I got the idea from this English Muffin Breakfast Pizza recipe from Our Best Bites. I just didn’t cook it in the same way. I used the broiler to toast my muffins, then assembled with the cooked items, topped with cheese, and popped them back under the broiler until the cheese melted.

This is another dish that can be easily customized. I made this batch with yellow and orange peppers, eggs, and a thin slice of cheese to seal everything to the English muffin. I’ve also made it with just eggs and cheese, with crumbled bacon, and with a thin sausage patty under the eggs. All of which was delicious. You could also make this a sandwich with the top half of the English muffin if you wanted.

A

As you have probably noticed, I lean towards eggs for breakfast, and this Southwestern Breakfast Casserole from Julia’s Album worked great as a make ahead breakfast, and was even delicious as dinner one night.

Southwestern Breakfast CasseroleThis is a really hearty breakfast, full of eggs, sausage, shredded potatoes, black beans, peppers, and cheese. The hubs and I both loved this,

Tomorrow, I’ll be posting a quick recipe for a sweet breakfast I’ve been eating this week. See you then!


Follow me on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter using the icons in the sidebar, and subscribe for post updates.

What do you eat for breakfast? Comment below!

Leave a Reply

