Fat Kid Chicken Sandwich!

Hello again!Fat Kid Chicken Sandwich

So, I’ve got to dedicate this post to my best friend Brittany! Here’s why, via an approximation of our text conversation:

Her: I’m baking spicy chicken patties, and I’m going to put it between a grilled cheese topped with homemade thousand island dressing and salt and vinegar chips!

Me: You did WHAT?!?! Holy delicious! That sounds AMAZING! Can I steal that? Can I call it a Fat Kid Chicken Sandwich and steal it for my blog? I want to eat it!!

Yes, I really was ridiculously excited by that. I may or may not have toned my excitement down over text as not to scare her.

Yes, I did immediately start thinking of variations so I could make this a mini-series.

So, flash forward to this week, where I am so ready to make this chicken sandwich, and I’m still thinking of the variations. So, I text my consultant (bestie Brittany, if you forget), and ask if she thinks sour cream and onion chips would be good on my buffalo variation (I had forgotten temporarily that I had decided on Cool Ranch Doritos).

And she completely throws me.

She. Didn’t. Put. The. Chips. On. Her. Sandwich.

Now I am just completely lost. I’ve been thinking about putting these chips on my sandwich for over a week now! What do I do?

Screw it, chips are going on my sandwich.

I had a long moral discussion with myself on changing the recipe I begged so shamelessly to use, but I wanted those crunchy chips on my sandwich, dammit!

I’ve included the Thousand Island dressing I made. It’s not as sweet, uses dill relish, and chili sauce. It is delicious, but I’m not positive I can call it Thousand Island.

I loved this sandwich so much! It’s cheesy, spicy, crunchy, and packed with flavor.

I hope you’ll try this easy, delicious, and indulgent sandwich! If you do, please snap a photo and hashtag it #messycountersfp. I’d love to see what you make!

Fat Kid Chicken Sandwich Two Views

Homemade Thousand Island dressing

¾ cup plain Greek yogurt
¼ cup light mayonnaise
4 tbsp. chili sauce (Heinz, in the bottle like cocktail sauce. Trust me, it’s just like ketchup, but better!)
2 tbsp. white vinegar
2 tsp. granulated sugar
2 tbsp. dill relish
½ tsp. garlic powder
¼ tsp. salt
¼ tsp. black pepper

Mix all ingredients in medium bowl. Transfer to a mason jar, or other storage container, and store for up to a week. I always make this at least a day in advance, since it just gets better as the flavors blend. This makes just over a cup of dressing.

Fat Kid Chicken Sandwich

½ cup homemade Thousand Island dressing
8 oz. shredded cheddar cheese
4 frozen spicy chicken patties
8 slices sourdough bread
Salt and Vinegar chips

Cook chicken patties according to package directions. Or don’t. My package says 17-20 minutes at 400°, but mine came out better at 425° for the same amount of time. The breading got crisper.

Here’s where the method diverges. You can make a grilled cheese, pull it open, and assemble the sandwich. Or you can follow my directions below that use the oven and no additional butter/mayo/whatever you use to cook a grilled cheese.

I switch my oven over to broil, lay my bread onto a sheet tray, and toast it until brown. The bottom side will still be soft when you remove it. Flip all the bread so it’s untoasted side up and top with cheese. Pop back under the broiler until cheese melts. Bam! Healthier (?) grilled cheese. The bread is still crispy, but it isn’t greasy.

For my version, you’ll now layer the chips, chicken patties, and homemade Thousand Island dressing on four of the slices, and top with the remaining slices. Cut diagonally and serve with additional chips and dressing.

For the besties variation, do not add chips to the sandwich. I love chips on sandwiches, and they have a good crunch here, but it is still delicious without them. So, totally up to you! This recipe really seems to be devolving into chaos, doesn’t it? But that’s what makes it fun and easy!


Follow me on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter using the icons in the sidebar for more fun content, and be sure to subscribe so you never miss a post!

What’s your guilty pleasure food?

2 thoughts on “Fat Kid Chicken Sandwich!

  1. Pingback: Chicken Cordon Bleu Melt (Fat Kid Chicken Sandwich Part II) | Messy Counters and Floured Paperbacks
  2. Pingback: Thousand Island Macaroni Salad | Messy Counters and Floured Paperbacks

Leave a Reply

