Chicken Cordon Bleu Melt (Fat Kid Chicken Sandwich Part II)

Hello again!

Chicken Cordon Bleu FKCS

Remember last week when I said I was already thinking up variations for the Fat Kid Chicken Sandwich? Well, I’m back with a Chicken Cordon Bleu twist!

I have to confess that I’ve never made or eaten traditional Chicken Cordon Bleu. So I can’t vouch for the authenticity of the flavors here. I can, however, vouch for the deliciousness, and the ease of the recipe. I could eat this ever week!

I hope you’ll try this easy, delicious, and indulgent sandwich! If you do, please snap a photo and hashtag it #messycountersfp. I’d love to see what you make!

Chicken Cordon Bleu

Chicken Cordon Bleu Fat Kid Chicken Sandwiches

Serves 5

Dijon Parmesan Dressing
½ cup plain Greek yogurt
1 tbsp. mayonnaise
2-3 tbsp. Dijon mustard
¼ cup grated Parmesan cheese
1 tsp. Worcestershire sauce
Salt and pepper to taste

For the Sandwiches
5 Kaiser rolls
½ lb. black forest ham
½ lb Swiss cheese
5 spicy chicken patties

Mix the yogurt, mayonnaise, 2 tbsp Dijon mustard, Parmesan cheese, Worcestershire sauce. Add salt and pepper to taste. Add remaining tbps mustard if desired (I wanted a bit more mustard punch when I tasted it). I recommend making this a few hours, or even a day ahead so the flavors can meld.

Cook chicken patties according to package directions. Or don’t. My package says 17-20 minutes at 400°, but mine came out better at 425° for the same amount of time. The breading got crisper.

Leave oven at 425°.

Cut Kaiser rolls in half, and lay them outsides up on a sheet tray. Bake a few minutes until lightly toasted. Flip rolls over so the insides face up, spread with dressing and cover with cheese (my ½ lb or Swiss was enough for one slice per piece). Place back in oven until cheese melts and the bread is toasty.

At this point, you can assemble the sandwiches with the ham and chicken patties and serve, or you can place the ham and chicken patties on the bottom buns and bake another few minutes to warm them. That’s what I did, and it worked for me.

I served these with Sea Salt and Cracked Pepper kettle cooked chips.


Follow me on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter using the icons in the sidebar for more fun content, and be sure to subscribe so you never miss a post!

Leave a Reply

