The Last Town by Blake Crouch (Wayward Pines #3)

Hello again!

This weeks book brings the conclusion to the Wayward Pines series. Check here and here for the reviews for books 1 and 2.

So, here we go. The Last Town by Blake Crouch.

Welcome to Wayward Pines, the last town.

Wayward Pines is a mess. The lunatic running the place has gone off the deep end, and chaos reigns.

Finally, I get the Ethan I really want. He takes charge, and makes decisions. He is pushing the story along, and all the characters are fully involved. The wool has been pulled away from their eyes, and they have to fight to survive or die.

The first half of the book was fantastic. Hell on earth. Fast-paced and intense, it’s an action-filled ride with lots of character interaction.

“I think I finally understand why God went away and left the world to destroy itself.”

This book isn’t like its predecessors. There isn’t any suspense left for us other than will they survive. There is a lot of fighting, a lot of running, and a lot of mayhem. There are a few scenes that just entertained in a wholly inappropriate way, like I-shouldn’t-be-laughing-while-the-world-burns-around-me-but-I-can’t-seem-to-stop, and they were perfect against the horror roller coaster of the book. A small pocket of relief.

The second half brought more problems, and a big decision that needed to be made, which lead straight into the ending…

The ending… Hmm, what can I say about the ending? FRUSTRATING. It was not at all what I was expecting, but it was everything I was hoping it wouldn’t be. I couldn’t make myself like the ending, and then the epilogue just aggravated me.

3.5 out of 5. Not my favorite conclusion to a series, but the first half of the book was phenomenal.


Follow me on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter using the icons in the sidebar for more fun stuff, and subscribe so you never miss a post!

NaNoWriMo is upon us readers! I may only do two book reviews in November due to being preoccupied by writing my own. All should return to normal come December.

Leave a Reply

