Thousand Island Macaroni Salad

Hello again!

Thousand Island Mac Salad 1

Ever since I made my own version of Thousand Island dressing, I’ve been loving it. It’s delicious on burgers, fries, Fat Kid Chicken Sandwiches… it’s just delicious.

And then last week I was thinking about macaroni salad. Macaroni salad should be right up my alley, since I love anything pasta, but most recipes I’ve made are a bit bland as is. I wondered what it would be like if I made it with my Thousand Island Dressing. So, of course I did just that, and I loved it! Even the hubs said it was what macaroni salad should be.

I hope you’ll try this tasty macaroni salad! If you do, please snap a photo and hashtag it #messycountersfp. I’d love to see what you make!

Thousand Island Macaroni Salad

Thousand Island Macaroni Salad

Thousand Island Macaroni Salad

For the dressing:
¾ cup plain Greek yogurt
¼ cup light mayonnaise
4 tbsp. chili sauce (Heinz, in the bottle like cocktail sauce. Trust me, it’s just like ketchup, but better!)
2 tbsp. white vinegar
2 tsp. granulated sugar
2 tbsp. dill relish
½ tsp. garlic powder
¼ tsp. salt
¼ tsp. black pepper

For the macaroni salad:
8 ounces elbow macaroni
2 eggs, hard-boiled and diced
4 green onions, sliced
1 4-oz can sliced black olives
1 red bell pepper, diced small
1 recipe Thousand Island Dressing
1 cup frozen peas, thawed

A

Make the dressing a day or two in advance, so the flavors can meld. Simply mix the ingredients together and store it in the fridge until needed.

Cook macaroni according to package directions.

Meanwhile, prep the other ingredients. If you like, drop the diced red pepper in with the elbow pasta for the last minute to take the bite out of them.

Shock the pasta and drain well. Combine all ingredients in a medium bowl until well blended. Chill for one hour before serving.

This will stay well for 3-4 days in the fridge. It might get a bit wetter, but it still tastes delicious, and a quick stir will smooth it out.


Follow me on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter using the icons in the sidebar for more fun content, and be sure to subscribe so you never miss a post!

Leave a Reply

