Italian Sub Pizza

Hello again!

Italian Sub Pizza

It felt so weird to take a week off from the blog, but NaNoWriMo took over my life last week! I finished and validated my 51,258 words Wednesday, so I’m so excited to be back today with a all-new recipe for you guys.

The hubs and I both love pizza, but I rarely make it. I don’t like to buy the pre-made crusts or doughs. And then I’ve got this thought in my head that making the dough myself is too hard. This thought is courtesy of the first time I made my own dough. I could NOT get it to roll out, no matter what I tried it just kept springing back (half an hour struggle and a bout of frustrated tears later, I scrapped pizza for that night).

But it’s been years since that failed pizza crust, and I’ve successfully made my own crust a number of times. So, why is my first thought when I want pizza that first botched time? Maybe just because it was the first time, or because I let myself get so upset. Either way, I convinced myself to suck it up this week because I wanted to try this pizza that had been floating around in my mind for almost a month now.

Italian. Sub. Pizza!

It sounded so good. Why couldn’t I take the toppings of an Italian Sub and make a pizza? Well, I could, did, and it was glorious.

Bear with me, my process pictures leave a bit to be desired. The weather was hideous that day, and the sun completely abandoned me in the kitchen. My camera was not having any of it, and all of my shots came out with some level of blurriness. But I couldn’t wait to share this pizza with you guys! It might be my favorite thing right now.

Pizza Process

This really is so good, and I hope you’ll try it. If you do, please snap a photo and hashtag it #messycountersfp. I’d love to see what you make!

Italian Sub Pizza2

Italian Sub Pizza

For the Crust:
1¼ cups white flour
2¼ teaspoon yeast
½ teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons oil
1 cup warm water (not boiling hot, about 110°)
1⅓- 1 ½ cups whole wheat flour

For the pizza:
¼ to ½ cup pesto
2 oz deli genoa salami, sliced thin and cut into quarters
2 oz deli pepperoni, sliced thin and cut into quarters
1 red bell pepper, sliced thin
1 green pepper, sliced thin
1 4-oz can sliced black olives
2 cups shredded pizza cheese
½ tsp dried oregano
½ tsp freshly ground black pepper
Red wine vinegar (optional, for serving)

  1. Preheat oven to 375°. Combine the white flour, yeast, and salt in the bowl of your mixer (I use a KitchenAid Artisan 5 Quart Stand Mixer). Add the oil and warm water and combine until incorporated. With the dough hook attachment, slowly work the whole wheat flour into the mixture until a soft, elastic dough forms. It shouldn’t be sticky. You should be able to pick it up and knead it into a soft ball.
  2. Set the dough aside, covered with plastic wrap or a clean dishtowel, until the dough doubles (10-15 minutes in a warm kitchen. It took about 30 minutes since my kitchen is cool thanks to the fall weather).
  3. While the dough rises, prep all vegetables and meats.
  4. Once dough has risen, split into two dough balls and roll out into 12-inch circles (a little larger for thinner crust). Poke surface with a fork a number of times to prevent bubbling and, if desired, pre-bake for 10 minutes (That’s what I did).
  5. Spread pesto on pizza crusts. It should cover the crust, but not too thickly. Top with cheese, then the vegetables. Spread the pepperoni and salami over the vegetables. Sprinkle with oregano and black pepper.
  6. Bake until desired doneness (about 6-8 minutes if crust is pre-baked, 14-16 if raw). If desired, broil for a minute or two to crisp the crust and brown the top.
  7. Sprinkle hot pizza with red wine vinegar if you’re into that kind of thing (which I absolutely am!). Enjoy!
Dough recipe very slightly adapted from Pinch of Yum.

Follow me on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter using the icons in the sidebar for more fun content, and be sure to subscribe so you never miss a post!

 

Leave a Reply

