Sriracha Ramen

Hello again!

Sriracha Ramen

So I do not consider myself a ramen expert. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE ramen! However, this recipe is not ramen in the traditional sense (real ramen is amazing and impressive in a way that baffles me),  but more the sense that I use packaged ramen noodles.

The base for this dish is a super easy tomato broth with a spicy sriracha kick. The broth is really my favorite part. It has so much flavor and is so filling and rich without weighing you down.

DSCN1692

So good!

A note on this broth: There is some texture from the tomatoes no matter how well it is blended. You can either strain this out, or not. I have made this both ways, and prefer to leave it in, but if you want a really thin broth (thin like water) strain it after it has simmered for about ten minutes, and return the strained broth to the pot until hot.

Ramen

The veggies can be adjusted any way you like. I used carrots and spinach, but you could easily use snow peas (I’ve done this frequently), bean sprouts, zucchini, kimchi… the possibilities are endless. That also makes this a great dish when you need to clean out your veggie drawer.

DSCN1686

 

I used poached eggs for my protein (I can thank my silicone poachers for their weird shape), but you could use chicken or pork if you wanted. My favorite aspect of ramen bowls is how I can change them. The broth is the constant in any ramen recipe for me. Everything else is negotiable. But if I’m being honest, at least one egg has to be included in any ramen I eat, whether poached or a soft-boiled ramen egg (marinated in soy and mirin, so delicious!).

I hope you’ll try it delicious soup this winter (though I have been known to eat this in the heat of summer as well). If you do, please snap a photo and hashtag it #messycountersfp. I’d love to see what you make!

Sriracha Ramen

 

Sriracha Ramen

Serves 2

2 packages ramen noodles, seasoning packets discarded
4 cups chicken broth, or vegetable
1 can (15 oz) fire roasted tomatoes
1 tbsp sesame oil
5 cloves garlic, roughly chopped
1 inch piece of ginger, peeled and roughly chopped
2 tbsp sriracha, or to taste
1 tbsp red miso paste
2 tbsp soy sauce (I use reduced sodium)
1 tbsp rice vinegar
4 green onions, white and green parts separated, green parts sliced into thin rings
4 carrots, julienned or peeled into ribbons
4 cups spinach, sliced into ribbons
4 eggs
Japanese Sesame seasoning (if desired, for garnish)

 

  1. Heat oil in a 3-quart saucepan over medium heat. Add garlic, ginger, and the whites of the green onion and saute until garlic is golden, 1-2 minutes.
  2. Transfer to a blender. Add tomatoes, miso, soy sauce, sriracha, rice vinegar, and about 1 cup of broth. Blend until smooth. Pour mixture back into saucepan with remaining broth. Bring to a boil over medium-high heat, and then reduce to a gentle simmer 10-20 minutes (while you prep the other ingredients).
  3. While broth simmers, poach the eggs and cook the noodles. Fill ramen bowls with the spinach, carrots, noodles, and eggs.
  4. If desired, strain broth, and return to heat until hot.
  5. Pour hot broth over noodles, sprinkle with green onions and Japanese Sesame seasoning (if desired), and serve. Enjoy!

Inspired by this recipe from Baker By Nature.


 

Follow me on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter using the icons in the sidebar for more fun content, and be sure to subscribe so you never miss a post!

Leave a Reply

