Creamy Pesto Penne with Kielbasa

Hello again!

Titled

It’s great to be back! Last week I got so wrapped up in my yearly planning that I ended up taking an impromptu break. But I’m back and ready to go with this wonderful pasta recipe.

I made this for the first time over a year ago. I made it with just pasta, kielbasa, and pesto, and it was good, but dried out quickly and wasn’t great for lunch the next day.  I put the recipe away as a bit of a failure.

But this week I found myself with a jar of pesto that needed to be finished off. I had kielbasa in the fridge, and I couldn’t help thinking about that pasta dish. It had tasted so good! The only problem had been that the sauce absorbed into the pasta and left it dry.

Surely after a year of cooking experience I could find a solution, right?

Yes, I could, and it was embarrassingly easy. Turn the pesto into a full sauce with just a touch of creaminess. It’s absolutely delicious and is perfect leftover for lunch.

I hope you’ll try this pasta dish. If you do, please snap a photo and hashtag it #messycountersfp. I’d love to see what you make!

Creamy Pesto Penne1

Creamy Pesto Penne with Kielbasa

12 oz penne pasta

2 tbsp avocado oil (or other oil of choice, such as olive oil)

1 14-oz package kielbasa, cut into half moons

1 onion, sliced into thin strips

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 tbsp butter

1 tbsp flour

2 cups chicken broth

½ cup pesto

¼ cup Greek yogurt

Salt and pepper

 

Cook pasta according to package directions.

Meanwhile, heat the oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add the kielbasa and brown, about 3 minutes. Add the onion and cook, stirring frequently, until translucent, about 5 minutes. Add the garlic, and cook 1 minute. Remove kielbasa mixture to a plate.

Turn the heat down to medium and melt the butter in the same skillet. Add the flour, mixing into a smooth paste, and cook for 1 minute, stirring constantly. Whisk in the chicken broth and cook until the mixture thickens slightly. This sometimes takes only a minute, sometimes closer to three. Season with salt and pepper. Remove the skillet from heat and stir in the pesto completely, then the Greek yogurt.

Add the pasta and kielbasa mixture to the skillet and stir to coat thoroughly. If needed, turn the heat back on low and cook until warm (mine is always still warm by this time). Serves 4.

 


 

Follow me on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter using the icons in the sidebar for more fun content, and be sure to subscribe so you never miss a post!

Leave a Reply

