My New Favorite Baked Potato!

Hello again!

I hope you like mustard!

Because I LOVE mustard. I love to eat it on sausage, chicken, pork, burgers, fries… the list goes on!

Cut to me earlier this month when the hubs and I visited my parents. We went to a few markets, and I found a bottle of horseradish mustard. (And yes, my bottle is already empty! It is so good!)

Ugh! This mustard was so good! It featured in todays recipe (posting soon)

A post shared by Katherine Elizabeth (@kelizabethwrite) on

So I brought it home and whipped up this warm, filling dinner. I love horseradish, so I use the mustard generously, and the result is a tangy, slightly spicy sauce that coated the chicken and broccoli perfectly without being overwhelming. The hubs and I loved it so much I’ve made it three times already!

I hope you’ll try this tasty dinner. It’s perfect for cold winter nights. If you do, please snap a photo and hashtag it #messycountersfp. I’d love to see what you make!

Stick around after the recipe for some step-by-step photos!

Baked Potatoes Horseradish Mustard Chicken and Broccoli

Baked Potatoes with Horseradish Mustard Chicken and Broccoli

4 large russet potatoes
2-4 tbsp butter (for the potatoes)
1 tbsp avocado oil, (or other oil such as olive)
1 lb chicken, diced
1-2 crowns of broccoli, cut into florets
¾ cup horseradish mustard
½ cup chicken broth, or water
¼ cup Greek yogurt
Salt and pepper, to taste

Preheat oven to 425°. Scrub the potatoes and cut off any small blemishes. Poke the potatoes all over with a fork, brush skins with olive oil, and sprinkle salt over the tops. Bake in the oven 50-60 minutes until a fork goes through easily.
Using a sharp knife, cut a horizontal line across the top of each potato. Using tongs or your hands (with oven mitts to protect them from the heat) press the side of the potatoes so they open up at the top. Add desired amount of butter to each potato, and tent with foil or place back in cooling oven to stay warm while you make the chicken mixture.
Season the chicken generously with salt and pepper (I also used garlic powder). Heat oil in a large skillet over high heat. Add chicken and brown. This should take about five minutes, and the chicken should be almost cooked through. Add the broccoli to the skillet, pour the chicken broth or water in, and cover the skillet with a lid. Allow the broccoli to steam for 3-5 minutes, until desired doneness.
Turn off heat and stir in the horseradish mustard, then the Greek yogurt. Season with salt and pepper if desired.
To serve top each buttered potato with the chicken mixture and any sauce left in the pan. Enjoy!

Process

 


Follow me on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter using the icons in the sidebar for more fun content, and be sure to subscribe so you never miss a post!

 

 

2 thoughts on “My New Favorite Baked Potato!

Leave a Reply

