The Best Pecans I’ve Ever Made

Hello again!

At Christmas I made these delicious Pumpkin Pie Spiced Pecans from Peanut Blossom. (Click here to check out the other goodies I made for the holidays.) Everyone loved them, but there was something about them I wanted to tweak. Am I the only one who thinks, “This is really good, but could I make it better?”. Probably? Yea, probably.

So off to the kitchen I went with my dreams. A tweak here, a change there, and I was absolutely ecstatic. My final product was a sweet, slightly spicy pecan that I can’t get enough of. They are perfect for gifting (or hiding in the back of the cabinet for late night snacking), but are also amazing chopped onto desserts or mixed into granola.

Cinnamon Sugar Pecans

 

They are also perfect for next weeks recipe, hint hint.

I hope you’ll try these pecans. If you do, please snap a photo and hashtag it #messycountersfp. I’d love to see what you make!

Stick around after the recipe for some step-by-step photos!

CSP

 

Cinnamon Sugar Pecans

6 cups pecan halves
2 tbsp granulated sugar
1 tsp pumpkin pie spice
1 tsp cinnamon
½ tsp salt
2 tbsp water
3 tbsp honey
1 tbsp oil

Cinnamon Sugar for topping
2 tbsp granulated sugar
2 tsp cinnamon

Preheat the oven to 325°.

Mix the sugar, pumpkin pie spice, cinnamon, and salt in a small bowl.

In a large pot, bring the water, oil, and honey to a boil over high heat. Add pecans and stir until well coated and almost all of the liquid has evaporated, 1-3 minutes. Turn off heat and sprinkle the sugar mixture over the pecans. Mix until fully coated.

Pour pecans onto a parchment lined baking sheet, spreading them out in a single layer. Bake for 16-18 minutes, stirring halfway through.

Once the pecans come out of the oven, mix together the cinnamon sugar. Sprinkle it over the pecans, and stir until well coated. Allow pecans to cool, stirring occasionally to break up any clumps. Store in an airtight container.

Recipe adapted from Peanut Blossom.

Process Pecans


 

Follow me on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter using the icons in the sidebar for more fun content, and be sure to subscribe so you never miss a post!

One thought on “The Best Pecans I’ve Ever Made

  1. Pingback: Tired of boring, bland oatmeal? Dessert it! | Messy Counters and Floured Paperbacks

Leave a Reply

