My New Favorite Way to Roast Garlic

Hello again!

I adore roasted garlic. I love it smeared on toast, mixed into soup (more on that another day), and I love adding it to marinades for added depth.

What I don’t adore?

Squeezing the cloves out of the paper-y  husk. My cloves NEVER slipped out in perfect roasted clove form, but squished out in a mush, and I never got all of that garlic goodness out. There had  to be an easier way, a better way.

And I found one!

At BJ’s (and Costco, I’m told) you can find these large bags of pre-peeled garlic. Even I, as an avid garlic lover, can’t finish these bags before they start to go bad, so there’s not much point in buying it. But now I roast most of the bag, freezing what I’m not going to use in the next week or two, and am loving having it on hand whenever I need it.

Roasted Garlic

So, this isn’t really a recipe, more a method, but I’ll still list it below. The biggest difference I’ve noticed with this method versus roasting the whole head, is the bottoms of the cloves get a bit darker. They taste to same to me, and are just as soft.

I hope you’ll try this method the next time you roast garlic. If you do, please snap a photo and hashtag it #messycountersfp. I’d love to see what you make!

Unroasted Roasted

Roasted Garlic Cloves

1 lb pre-peeled garlic cloves
Olive oil
Salt pepper

Pre-heat oven to 350°.
Line a 9 x 13 – inch pan with aluminum foil.
Pick through the garlic cloves to remove any bad ones, and toss (in the foil-lined pan) with olive oil, salt, and pepper. Cover pan tightly with foil and bake for 1 hour.
Lift a corner of the foil (be careful not to give yourself a steam facial, they hurt!) and check the color of the cloves. If they are to your liking, you’re done. If not, place them back in the oven for 5-10 minutes until desired color.
Freeze any garlic you’re not going to use in the next week or so. You can break off whatever you need in the future.

Process


 

Follow me on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter using the icons in the sidebar for more fun content, and be sure to subscribe so you never miss a post!

Leave a Reply

