White Chocolate Bailey’s Mousse

Hello again!

I did something this week I wasn’t sure I’d ever do…

It was scary…

It was exciting…

It was… not as hard as I thought it would be.

I made mousse!

That was a lot of build up for a dessert, huh? Well, this isn’t just any dessert. It’s fluffy, smooth, creamy, delicious white chocolate mousse. With booze. Yummy Bailey’s to be specific.

DSCN2583

I could eat this every single day until I died and I would die a happy woman.

It’s fantastic on it’s own (I may or may not have made an extra batch just for myself), but I actually made it as a component for my St. Patrick’s Day dessert (coming in just two days! I’m dying to show it to you UPDATE: It’s here!! Click to check out my Triple Irish Cake.)

If you’ve ever thought of making a mousse, but were  afraid it wouldn’t turn out (I can’t be the only one afraid of gelatin in recipes, can I?), or if you’ve been getting by with cheater mousse a.k.a. instant pudding mixed with Cool Whip. Don’t get me wrong here, I love cheater mousse, but the real deal is so much better!

DSCN2579

I adapted this recipe from Peas and Peonies. Definitely check out her blog (her photos are absolutely amazing!)

I imagine you could change the flavor of this with different liqueurs (you may see a few variations coming up here soon). I can’t stop thinking raspberry.

I hope you’ll try this easy mousse recipe. If you do, please snap a photo and hashtag it #messycountersfp. I’d love to see what you make!

DSCN2573

White Chocolate Bailey’s Mousse

1 tsp unflavored gelatin ( I use Knox)

1 tbsp hot water

1 cup heavy cream

2 tbsp Bailey’s Irish Cream liqueur

2 large egg yolks

3 tbsp sugar

4 ounces white chocolate, melted

1/8 tsp salt

 

In the bowl of a stand mixer, whip the heavy cream until firm peaks form. Place in fridge while completing the remaining steps. (Side note: The cream should be very cold, and if your kitchen is hot, chilling the bowl and whisk is recommended.)

In a small bowl, mix the gelatin powder with the hot water. Let stand until softened.

Heat the liqueur in a microwave-safe bowl until hot, 30-45 seconds. Stir into the gelatin until fully dissolved.

In the bowl of a stand mixer, whip the egg yolks, sugar and salt together on high until pale and thickened, 4-5 minutes.

While that is whipping, melt the white chocolate in the microwave or in a double boiler until fully melted and smooth.

Once the egg yolk mixture is pale and thickened, beat in the liqueur gelatin mix and the melted chocolate, scraping the bowl if need be to fully incorporate the white chocolate before it firms up (will create clumps).

In two additions, gently fold in the whipped cream by hand with a rubber spatula.

Using a rubber spatula, gently fold in the chilled whipped cream by hand in two additions. Transfer to serving bowls, cover with cling film, and refrigerate until firm, at least 4 hours.

 

Recipe adapted from Peas and Peonies.

White Chocolate Bailey's Mousse 1


 

Follow me on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter using the icons in the sidebar for more fun content, and be sure to subscribe so you never miss a post!

 

One thought on “White Chocolate Bailey’s Mousse

  1. Pingback: Triple Irish Cake | Messy Counters and Floured Paperbacks

Leave a Reply

