Baked Oatmeal Cups

Hello again!

Did any of you make weight-loss resolutions this year? I didn’t specifically, but I am trying to get back on track with my eating habits. I’ve been a bit behind since the holidays, letting myself eat whatever I pleased.

This is not to say I diet. I’m not big on depriving myself, because it is not something that has ever worked for me. I end up miserable and eventually give up and binge on junk. So I work on eating more heathful and whole food on a day-to-day basis and logging my calories.

Where am I going with this? Why am I rambling on?

Oatmeal Cups Variety

Breakfast is one of my biggest blunders in my journey to a better relationship with food. Some times I don’t want to eat it at all. I know I should, but I just don’t want to. Some times I can eat the exact same breakfast for two weeks and be completely content.

Some times I get so excited planning a breakfast, but then it comes time for me to eat it, and I just have no appetite.

You may remember I recently turned dessert into breakfast with this Carrot Cake Oatmeal. That got me thinking about what else I could do with oatmeal. I was thinking on making a baked oatmeal when I saw a video float by in my Facebook feed about baked oatmeal muffins.

Oatmeal Types

I loved the idea, so I got to work making my own. I played with the sugar amounts and types. What I finally ended with was a perfect for me baked oatmeal cup. Not too sweet, not too bland, and filled with fruity goodness.

I made three variations for this recipe:

Blueberry Lemon – Blueberries (fresh or dried) inside and on top, with a lemon sugar glaze.

Banana Walnut – Chopped bananas inside, with Walnuts on top.

PB&J – A spoonful of jam inside the oatmeal cups, with peanut butter drizzled over the top.

But feel free to make up your own flavor combos. That’s what I love most about these oatmeal cups – you can make them any flavor you like.

I hope you’ll try this delicious cake. If you do, please snap a photo and hashtag it #messycountersfp. I’d love to see what you make!

Baked Oatmeal Cups

Baked Oatmeal Cups

2 eggs

½ cup brown sugar

¼ cup maple syrup

¾ cup applesauce

1 ½ cups milk

2 tsp vanilla extract

3 cups rolled oats

½ tsp salt

2 tsp baking soda

1 tbsp cinnamon

Desired topping and fillings (such as: berries, bananas, jams, peanut butter)

 

Beat eggs in a large bowl. Whisk in brown sugar and maple syrup, followed by the applesauce. Add in the milk and vanilla extract. Last stir in the oats, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon until fully combined.

Allow the mixture to soak for 20 minutes.

Heat oven to 350°. Line a muffin tin with paper or silicone liners (I use silicone).

Scoop a small amount of the oatmeal mix into each liner (approximately a teaspoon). Spoon in about a teaspoon of desired filling, then top with oatmeal mixture. I generally fill mine almost to the top of the liners. They will puff a little during baking, but I’ve had no spillage so far. If topping with nuts (or berries) gently press them into the oatmeal so they’ll stick.

Bake for 30 minutes.

Allow to cool completely before adding any glaze or drizzles.

Makes 18.

Oatmeal Process


 

Follow me on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter using the icons in the sidebar for more fun content, and be sure to subscribe so you never miss a post!

 

Leave a Reply

