Blackening Seasoning

Hello again!

I’ve gotten into making my own spice blends lately. I have a lot of spices on hand at my house, and I like that I can customize the blends to my liking.

My current favorite blend is Blackening seasoning. I have spent years buying and testing store-bought blackening seasonings, and none of them have really done it for me. Some are way too salty, some aren’t spicy, and some just don’t have much flavor.

DSCN3043

This blend works perfectly for me. It’s spicy, but still flavorful, and not too salty. And with the weather finally starting to warm up, I know I’ll be using it frequently on my grilled chicken. I love making blackened chicken (or pork, or fish) to top salads, pasta, and it makes a really unique chicken salad sandwich (all these recipes upcoming, I promise).

DSCN3045

I’ll see you next Friday for a light pasta featuring blackened chicken made with this spice blend.

Blackening Seasoning

1 tbsp paprika

1 tbsp garlic powder

½ tbsp onion powder

1 tsp dried thyme

2 tsp black pepper

1 ½ tsp cayenne

1 tsp salt

 

Combine all ingredients in a small bowl. Mix thoroughly and store in an airtight container. Makes a little over ¼ cup seasoning, or enough to generously season 2-3 lbs of chicken, pork, or fish.

DSCN3051


Follow me on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter using the icons in the sidebar for more fun content, and be sure to subscribe so you never miss a post!

3 thoughts on “Blackening Seasoning

  1. Pingback: Lemon Garlic Pasta with Blackened Chicken | Messy Counters and Floured Paperbacks
  2. Pingback: Blackened Chicken Caesar Salad Slices | Messy Counters and Floured Paperbacks

Leave a Reply

