Lemon Garlic Pasta with Blackened Chicken

Hello again!

I am so late! I have been completely thrown off by the last couple of weeks, but I’m back and getting into the swing of things.

So, remember the Blackening Seasoning I posted last week? I promised I’d be back with a  recipe utilizing it, and here I am (there will be more in the coming months).

Blackened Chicken

Since it’s finally starting to warm up here, I fired up the grill for blackened chicken, and served it with a lemon garlic pasta that I could probably eat every day this summer and be happy. The Hubs and I ate this on our back porch while Mr. Markl played in the yard. I’m so happy the weather is warming, and it’s got me thinking of our first summer party. I’m thinking Tacos and Tequila.

But I digress.

I love the brightness of the lemon against the spice of the blackened chicken. It’s great for a light spring dinner, and even makes a good cold lunch. Grape tomatoes are one of my favorite things to add to light pasta dishes like this. They add a fresh, juicy pop that I miss all winter long.

One last note: I use a cornstarch slurry to thicken the sauce, but you’re welcome to use the starchy pasta water if you’ve had success with that (for some reason I just never have. The sauces never coat the pasta like I want). With angel hair, I tend to have clumping issues, so I rinse it and toss it with a bit of oil, which rinses that thickening starch right off.

If you try this, post a photo and hashtag it #messycounterfp so I can check it out! I’d love to see your pictures.

Blackened Chicken Pasta

Lemon Garlic Pasta with Blackened Chicken

For the chicken:

1 lb chicken cutlets

1-2 tbsp Blackening Seasoning

1 tbsp olive oil

 

For the pasta:

8 oz angel hair pasta

1 tbsp olive oil

12 cloves garlic, minced

1 cup white wine or chicken broth

Cornstarch slurry (2 tsp cornstarch mixed with 2 tsp water)

1 lemon, zested and juiced

¼ cup basil, chiffonaded

1 cup grape tomatoes, halved or quartered

Grated Parmesan, to serve

 

In a medium bowl or quart size bag, combine the chicken with the Blackening seasoning and oil until evenly coated. Set aside (can be done up to a day ahead).

Cook pasta according to package directions. Drain and rinse with cool water, and toss with a little olive oil to keep it from sticking together.

In a large skillet, heat a tablespoon of olive oil over medium heat. Add the minced garlic and cook, stirring constantly, for one minute, until golden. Add the wine (or broth) and cook until reduced by half.

Add cornstarch slurry, and cook until thickened slightly. Add the lemon zest and juice, stir to combine, then add the pasta and toss to coat completely. Add tomatoes and basil.

While you make the sauce, cook chicken via your favorite method (I grill mine).

Plate pasta, top with sliced chicken and garnish with grated Parmesan, a lemon wedge, and additional basil if desired. Enjoy.


Follow me on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter using the icons in the sidebar for more fun content, and be sure to subscribe so you never miss a post!

Leave a Reply

