Greek Chicken Salad Slices

Hello again!

Did I say Greek Vinaigrette a few weeks ago and then flee the scene?

Yes.

Sorry.

Gonna get personal for a minute. This summer has been full of fun eats, but a weird malaise came with it. I’ve just felt like doing absolutely nothing. What was the point anyway. Who would miss my little blog? Who would care as it sunk into its own depression of disuse and neglect?

Well… I would, I realized. I started this blog for me, to talk about food and books, and things I love. And I’ve gotten a bit off-track of late. A bit lazy, a bit self-pitying.

So if you guys noticed and wondered, I was gone, but I’m back now…

Greek Salad Slice

And I brought a fantastic Greek Chicken Salad Slice to apologize. Something fresh and vibrant to kick my butt back into gear.

I love ordering Greek salads. The tangy Feta, the briny Kalamatas, and even the red onion. It’s all yummy to me. (Except perhaps the pepperoncini. I’m sorry little guy, but I just haven’t figured out your angle yet. Why am I supposed to like you?)

Greek Chicken Close

One extra step I do with my Greek salads is to quick-pickle the red onion in just a bit of red wine vinegar and Greek seasoning. It softens the harsh edge of their flavor while retaining the crunch and adding a bump of flavor. I normally toss my cucumbers, tomatoes, and olives in there too, but it’s an optional step either way.

I’ve tried to lay the steps out as clearly as possible without being confusing. It’s a salad, so I swear it’s not a complicated recipe. It just has an extra step tossed in.

If you make this, snap a pic and tag it #messcountersfp. I’d love to see what you make.

Sunny Greek Salad

Greek Chicken Salad Slices

For the chicken:

1 lb chicken

1 tbps avocado oil (or other cooking oil)

1 tbsp Greek Seasoning

1 lemon, zested and juiced

Salt and Pepper

 

For the marinated veggies:

½ red onion, diced

1 cucumber, chopped

2 tomatoes, chopped

1 cup Kalamata olives, halved

1 tbsp red wine vinegar

½ tsp Greek Seasoning

 

For assembly:

1 head iceberg lettuce

1 cup Greek Vinaigrette

½-1 cup Feta cheese

Salt and pepper

 

In a small bowl, combine the oil, Greek Seasoning, lemon zest and juice. Tastes and add salt and pepper to taste. If necessary, break your chicken down into thin cutlets (about ¼” thick), then add the marinade to the meat in a plastic re-closable bag, or in a bowl. Allow to marinade at least 30 minutes to overnight.

In a medium Tupperware container, combine the onions, cucumbers, tomatoes, and olives with the red wine vinegar and Greek Seasoning. With the lid on, shake the veggies to make sure the vinegar and seasoning are evenly distributed. Shake periodically while preparing the rest of the meal.

Grill the marinated chicken over medium-high heat for 5-7 minutes until cooked through, flipping once.

While the chicken rests, slice the head of iceberg into round slices about ½” thick. Lay on plates, and then top with the marinated veggies. Slice the chicken and place on top of salad. Drizzle with dressing, sprinkle with cheese, salt and pepper, and enjoy!

 

Greek Veggie Gif


Follow me on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter using the icons in the sidebar for more fun content, and be sure to subscribe so you never miss a post!

 

Save

Leave a Reply

