Teriyaki Chicken Meal Prep

Hello again!

I hate making lunch. The hubs needs lunch to take to work with him, and most of the time I pack up dinner leftovers for that purpose. Problem? That often means there’s nothing for me to eat for lunch. Which in theory is fine. I’m home at lunch and can make myself something. But I don’t want to.

Cue another foray into meal prepping and meal prep containers. I’ve been around this meal prep thing before. I’ve stocked up on mason jars (now in use in other ways), cute bento boxes (cute but not so fun), and just plain tupperware (never seemed to have just the right size). All of these choices ended up just not being what I wanted.

But being as addicted to Instagram as I am, I’ve been seeing these FitPacker containers a lot. And I decided I needed to get myself some.

So far?

I’m loving them!

teriyaki-chicken-fitpack

They are the PERFECT size for lunches. They stack in the fridge, aren’t bulky, and nest perfectly when not in use.

My favorite recipe to pack up for lunch? This Teriyaki Chicken.

teriyaki-chicken

Homemade teriyaki sauce is essential. Quick, easy, and you probably have everything you need in your kitchen. That bottled stuff? Full of weird junk and not half as delicious as this.

I’ve included my choice of veggies, but you can change that up however you like. And if you need a little something extra, I’ve tacked on the recipe for Sriracha cream sauce at the end of the recipe. It’s great on this, as well as so many other things. Pizza? Absolutely. Tacos? Hell yes!

 

If you make this, snap a pic and tag it #messcountersfp. I’d love to see what you make.

Teriyaki Chicken Meal Prep

Makes 4 servings

½ cup soy sauce

½ cup brown sugar

1 clove garlic, grated

½ tsp ground ginger

½ tsp Sriracha (or more if you want more spice)

1 tbsp cornstarch

1 lb chicken breast, cut into thin strips or cubed

1 tbsp cooking oil

1 head broccoli

2 bell peppers, any color

2 cups cooked rice

2 green onions, sliced into small rings

To make the sauce:

Combine soy sauce, brown sugar, garlic, ground ginger, sriracha, and cornstarch in a small saucepan, whisking until fully combined. Turn heat to medium and cook, stirring frequently until the sauce begins to boil, about 4 minutes. Cook another minute or two, until sauce thickens and becomes glossy. Set aside.

Season chicken with salt and pepper. Heat the oil in a wok or large skillet over high heat. Add the chicken and cook until browned and cooked through. Pour the teriyaki sauce into the pan and toss the chicken to coat. Remove from heat.

While the chicken cooks, cook the broccoli and, if desired, the peppers.

To 4 lunch containers, add ½ cup of the cooked rice. Divide the broccoli, peppers, and chicken evenly among the containers. Drizzle any sauce that remains in the pan over the chicken. Sprinkle the green onion over the dishes.

For an added flavor boost, you can drizzle this Sriracha cream sauce over the top.

Sriracha Cream Sauce

¼ cup Greek yogurt, sour cream, or mayo

1 ½ tbsp Sriracha

1 tbsp. honey

Mix ingredients thoroughly. Store in fridge until ready to use.

img_20161017_170710


Follow me on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter using the icons in the sidebar for more fun content, and be sure to subscribe so you never miss a post!

Save

One thought on “Teriyaki Chicken Meal Prep

Leave a comment