Fire-Roasted Corn and Jalapeño Salsa

Hello again!

It’s Friday morning, and we’ve made it to recipe #3 this week. If you’re just tuning in, feel free to click over to the other recipes so far:

I want to make a quick side trip to Qdoba (or Chipotle) real quick. Whenever the hubs and I go there, I always add both the tomato and corn salsa to my burrito. Well, our Qdoba stopped doing buy one, get one free, so we don’t go much anymore. But it got me thinking why don’t I combine the two when I make my own so I can have the best of both worlds?

Well, that’s just what I did this week.

Salsa

I decided to roast the corn and jalapenos in this salsa. You could also roast the tomatoes, but I wanted their bright fresh flavor to contrast with the smokey corn.

This salsa is great for some many things. I used it in eggs this morning, added it to my lunch salad yesterday, and stirred it into my rice last night. It would be great for quesadillas or added to orzo for a pasta salad.

If you make this, snap a pic and tag it #messcountersfp. I’d love to see what you make.

IMG_20160823_172149814_Fotor

This is the same salsa, but there’s sauce and green onions on it from the dish it was in.

Fire-Roasted Corn and Jalapeno Salsa

5-6 roma tomatoes, chopped

2 ears of corn, cooked then charred over a stove or grill.

1-2 jalapenos (depending on heat preference), charred over a stove or grill, then seeded and diced fine

½ red onion, diced

3 cloves garlic, minced or grated

1 lime, zested and juiced

¼- ½ bundle of cilantro, chopped finely

½ tsp cumin

Optional: 1 tbsp Trader Joe’s Green Dragon Sauce

 

Combine all ingredients in a medium bowl. Add salt and pepper to taste. Let sit for 30 minutes before serving so flavors can meld.

 


Follow me on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter using the icons in the sidebar for more fun content, and be sure to subscribe so you never miss a post!

One thought on “Fire-Roasted Corn and Jalapeño Salsa

  1. Pingback: Citrus and Garlic Pork Burrito Bowls | Messy Counters and Floured Paperbacks

Leave a comment