Food Friday – 9/4/14

Fotor090419561Hello Again!

The hubs and I had a busy Labor Day weekend. Friday we went to the beach with my bestie and her hubs, then out to dinner. And Saturday we went to their house to celebrate his birthday. So, we were eating pretty much whatever we wanted and stayed up quite late both nights.

Which leads me to Monday, where I was feeling the need for something a bit healthier. Something green. This led me to this Italian Chopped Salad from Cinnamon-Spice & Everything Nice. I used lettuce, cucumber, olives, peperoni, mozzarella, red onion, and tomatoes in mine. I omitted the pasta and chickpeas in favor of a grilled chicken breast.

Chicken Italian Chopped Salad

Chicken Italian Chopped Salad

This salad was just what I wanted. So fresh and delicious. It’s just what I wanted after such a heavy weekend, while still being satisfying and filling.

 

Tuesday, I made this One Pot Pasta Primavera from Oh My Veggies. Asparagus, broccoli, mushrooms, onion, and peas accompany linguini pasta in a light creamy sauce with a hint of lemon.

One Pot Pasta Primevera

One Pot Pasta Primavera

This pasta was really quick and easy to make, and tastes more indulgent than it is. I am still not a broccoli person, sadly, but I keep trying and this recipe is a good one. I think it is tasty enough for many veggie haters.

 

Wednesday, I made this Turkey Taco Skillet from Yummy Healthy Easy, and these Oven Roasted Fajita Vegetables from Tone & Tighten. The taco skillet has ground turkey, salsa, rice, and Mexicorn. The fajita vegetables are onion, red and green peppers, zucchini, and squash with taco seasoning and a little bit of olive oil.

Turkey Taco Skillet with Oven Roasted Fajita Vegetables

Turkey Taco Skillet with Oven Roasted Fajita Vegetables

This is just pure comfort food for me. I love ground turkey and rice. I make so many meals with those as a base, and this will be going into my regular rotation. The fajita vegetables were fantastic, and probably will be my go-to way to cook them from now on. Way easier than and just as flavorful as skillet ones.

 

Thursday, I made this Chicken Andouille Naan Pizza from Climbing Grier Mountain, and Curried Baked Zucchini Chips from My Natural Family. The pizzas are made with Naan bread, chicken Andouille sausage, onion, Monterey jack cheese, pizza sauce, Pico de Gallo, yellow mustard, and jalapeños. The chips are just sliced zucchini lightly brushed with oil and sprinkled with curry spice, garlic powder, and salt.

Chicken Andouille Naan Pizza with Curried Zucchini Chips

Chicken Andouille Naan Pizza with Curried Zucchini Chips

 With the pizza, I used regular salsa instead of Pico and omitted the raw jalapeño. I think these were not horrible changes, and we both really loved this pizza. The flavors play together really well, and the mustard really pops.

The zucchini chips didn’t get crispy for me, but I think that is because of cook’s error. I used too much oil and I got impatient at the end. Even with that, they were so delicious! I will definitely make these again.

One thought on “Food Friday – 9/4/14

Leave a comment