Food Friday – Hubs Home Alone II

Hello again!

FoodFriday05-29

I went out of town the other week, and had to make food for the hubs to eat while I was gone. I picked some recipes I wish I’d saved for when I was home!

Space

Though I didn’t make this with the crockpot method, this Crockpot Lasagna Soup from Family Fresh Meals was easy to make and reheat.

Crockpot Lasagna Soup.

Crockpot Lasagna Soup.

This was delicious, though not particularly reminiscent of lasagna. It was more a meat sauce with shells, but that’s tasty enough.

Space

I prepped these Pepperoni Pizza Lasagna Rolls from Rachel Cooks up to the point of baking and left them for him to finish off the day he wanted to eat them.

Pepperoni Pizza Lasagna Rolls

Pepperoni Pizza Lasagna Rolls

They were right up his alley. The sauce was fantastic. He said that could be my new go-to sauce. I’m going to make these again so I can have some!

Space

Next, I made a casserole using an augmented version of this Sloppy Joe recipe from Pioneer Woman, and masked potatoes. I forgot to take a picture of the casserole once it was finished, but it would have just looks like a pan full of mashed potatoes, so I don’t think we’re missing much.

Sloppy Joe Filling

Sloppy Joe Filling

My parents used to make something similar to this they called Shepherd’s Pie, but I think the cookbook called it hamburger pie or something. I can’t find the recipe anymore, but I think I tweaked this nicely. I added 2 teaspoons of thyme and a can of corn to the sloppy joe recipe, which gave me a similar flavor profile to what I remember. This is the point I started wondering why I was making all these recipes that sounded so good to me when I couldn’t eat them! It’s good he enjoyed it, or I might have been mad.

Space

Last up, these Calico Beans from Necessary Indulgences. This is definitely man food with bacon and ground beef.

Calico Beans

Calico Beans

Yum! I had a taste after I made them, and I wanted to save some for myself! I only used 1/2 cup of the brown sugar because I don’t like my beans too sweet and they came out great. This would be a perfect side for a summer barbeque.

Space

That’s all for this Food Friday. See you Monday!

2 thoughts on “Food Friday – Hubs Home Alone II

Leave a comment